🎧 Shibuya's Scrambled Sounds - Issue #29

A feast of fresh sounds and hidden gems

Step off the plane into this week’s issue of Shibuya’s Scrambled Sounds !

Hi everyone, I hope you had a nice week. Big change, Mystery Bento has changed from a once a month thing to an almost every week thing! For every normal issue of Shibuya’s Scrambled Sounds, there will be a Mystery Bento at the bottom. I hope you like this new format 😇 

This week’s episode includes:

  • An album featuring quirky synths over fuzzy Psych Pop

  • Smooth Jazz coming back

  • The best album you’ve never heard of by an artist you probably know

  • Great singles and a enlightening EP

🥧 Fresh Out The Oven Albums 🥧

Reviews of the best new albums that came out recently
*with some exceptions

Rating System

🥧 Pretty warm - for the hardcore fans of the genre
🥧🥧 Oh that’s hot - for any fan of the genre
🥧🥧🥧 We gonna need oven mitts - potential classic, highly suggested listen
🥧🥧🥧🥧 The kitchen’s on fire!! - modern classic, must listen

** I only talk about albums I liked in this newsletter so even the “Pretty warm” albums are still good 😉

Group2 - Group2 X

Genre: Indie Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube

I think it’s official to say that Group2 and xiexie are both part of this new wave of Indie/Psychedelic Rock fusion bands coming out recently. While this mix is nothing new, they are bringing about fresh approach to the sound. For example, when I first heard Group2, I was not impressed and I quickly passed on it. However, I kept seeing their name pop up in the Japanese music sites I follow and after another listen, I got it.

And I’m glad I did because after visiting this whole record, I can confirm it’s the perfect balance of trying something new while retaining respect for the classics.

I really like all of the left turns that their music sometimes takes. The perfect example of this is “C’mon feat. Maeri (from xiexie)”, which goes from this funky upbeat groove to a Mario 64 sounding swing beat, then switching to a variation of the previous beat with semi-rapping(??).

While the entire band is very talented, I think the guitar and keyboard/synth work on this album is the most interesting part. The guitar tone on tracks like “SMC” are so close to being gimmicky that they’re actually good. I also love the fuzzed out tone prevalent throughout “Milch!”, which sounds to me like a Krautrock appreciation track. Also, worth talking about the production, which in general is round and slightly lo-fi sounding, yet every detail resonates clear in the mix.

This is another band where I like the sounds and directions they choose, but I personally prefer a little more consistency in quality from track to track. I can’t wait to see where they go from here and I still think they are an exciting band to follow in the Japanese Indie scene right now.

Rating: 🥧🥧 Oh that’s hot

Favorite Tracks: 回 (Track 2), C’mon, Ordinary, SMC, Milch!, Syndrome

Uyama Hiroto - Breath of Love

Genre: Smooth Jazz, Nu Jazz, Instrumental Hip-Hop
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube

I’m not sure how I missed this when it came out, but wow what a coincidence that in the midst of my Nujabes listening for last week, I stumbled upon this.

Uyama Hiroto was a frequent collaborator with Nujabes (literally on every studio album) and if we’re talking about aesthetics and melodic sensibilities, he can be seen as the torch bearer of the Nujabes sound. His sound is both Hip-Hop and Smooth Jazz inspired, something that would normally be called cheesy or tacky, but neither of those words describe Uyama. His music sounds uplifting, spiritual, positive. It’s also worth noting that outside of guests, everything is done by him. While his Sax playing is of course the instrument he is most known for playing, I gotta say I’m impressed by his drumming as well.

I love it when Uyama embraces his influences like on the track “Shade of Blue”, which “samples” the chord progression from “Visions” by Stevie Wonder. Also can’t forget about the interpolation of “Lovin You”, the Minnie Ripperton classic, which is titled “Loving You” here.

Some songs drag on and the general atmosphere of the album gets tiring by the end, but this album is a mood, with each track being solid to amazing. If you’re a fan of Uyama or Nujabes, this is a highly suggested listen.

Rating: 🥧🥧 Oh that’s hot

Favorite Tracks: Eternal Bliss, Color of Love, One Six, Shade of Blue

🍱Mystery Bento🍱

An older album you should check out

Capsule - L.D.K. Lounge Designers Killer (2005)

Genre: Electronic Pop, Post-Shibuya-kei
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube

I slept on this one for way too long. First, I haven’t talked about Yasutaka Nakata too much on this newsletter yet, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who owes a big part of their love of Japanese Pop music to him. Do you know Perfume? Kyary Pamyu Pamyu? He’s the mastermind behind the musical elements of their sounds. Needless to say he’s a modern legend of Pop.

But have you listened to Capsule? Despite being one of his first major projects, Capsule never caught on quite as much in the west. I was always a fan of the first Capsule album which was a part of the first wave of the cutesy electronic sounding wave of what I like to call Post-Shibuya-kei. If you know Pico-Pop or what some people call Akishibu-kei, it’s adjacent to that. This might be a hot take, but in general, I like this sound more than the original Shibuya-kei stuff. The best point of reference is the Katamari Damacy Soundtrack (maybe the peak of the genre imo). But I never liked the Electro sound of later Capsule records so much, I think that sound better suited Perfume.

So low and behold L.D.K., this is probably the first release where Nakata’s sound is instantly recognizable. The dance music influence is obvious, yet it still retains the cutesy-ness of the first albums.

Have you heard “テレポテーション”, the 2nd track? Not only the best Capsule track, I think this could be argued as being in the top 3 Nakata tracks he’s ever made. Both the sometimes glitchy fast paced drums that are driving the track and the simple chorus melody are unforgettable. Other tracks that stand out are “tiC taC” (I have an unapologetic huge soft spot for Bossa Nova tee hee), and the “do do pi do”, a track you may know from the Kyary Pamyu Pamyu cover (can you call it a cover? Recreation?). Honestly, if you understand Japanese and check out the lyrics, I think this song inspired Kyary’s whole aesthetic.

Honestly this might be a must listen for 2000’s Japanese Pop music that I somehow missed until the past couple of weeks. I 100% recommend that you check this out if you’re into any of the artists I mentioned in this review.

Favorite Tracks: 1, 2, 3, 5, 9

♨️ Steaming EPs ♨️ 

Some good EPs that recently came out

TSUBAME - Begin Again EP

Genre: Meditative Techno?, Ambient-Inspired Dance Music
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube

🍵 Piping Hot Singles 🍵

Here’s where you find the newest hottest singles on the planet from Japan

B.D. & Cedar Law$ - ANCHOR
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube
Genre: Abstract Hip-Hop

Ennui Holiday - 位置について (Feat. Yo Irie)
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube
Genre: Pop Rock, City Pop-Revival

Ohhki - YELLOW IN GREEN BANANA
Spotify | Apple Music
Genre: Weirdo Pop, You decide

luvis - Higher
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube
Genre: Indie Rock, Indie Pop

Fried Banana Shop - In My Room (feat. JU!iE)
Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube
Genre: Hazy Lo-Fi Indie Pop

❤️‍🔥 Thank you! ❤️‍🔥 

As always, thank you thank you sooooo much for reading this issue of Shibuya’s Scrambled Sounds! 🥹

  • Rate this issue here: Feedback Poll

  • Reply to this email or message the Instagram for comments or suggestions

  • If you enjoy this content, please share and like the Instagram posts, as well as forward this email to friends. Your support keeps me going ♥️

See ya next time! Breakfast is ready.

Reply

or to participate.