Shibuya's Scrambled Sounds - Issue #18

Gotta go fast

Shibuya’s Scrambled Sounds

Hi everyone, I hope you had a nice week. This past weekend I went to Nagoya to hang out and see off a long-time pal who’ll move back to the US soon. I had a blast, but it meant that I didn’t have as much listening time as usual.

This means it’s time for one of my infamous LIGHTING ROUND ISSUES!

I didn’t listen to either of the albums (or the soundtrack) more than like once or twice this week, so I don’t think it’s fair to give in-depth write-ups about them, or even rank them. To be honest, the EPs from this week are my favorite from front to back, so I was busy listening to those as well.

But I’ll give you links and genres and you can make your own decisions about them. Also, lots of singles as always so check em out if it seems up your alley! 😊

🥧Fresh Out The Oven Albums🥧

Rating System

🥧 Pretty warm - for the hardcore fans of the genre
🥧🥧 Oh that’s hot - for any fan of the genre
🥧🥧🥧 We gonna need oven mitts - potential classic, highly suggested listen
🥧🥧🥧🥧 The kitchen’s on fire!! - modern classic, must listen

** I only talk about albums I liked in this newsletter so even the “Pretty warm” albums are still good 😉

Fetus - b1 b2

Genre: Bass Music, Heady Drum and Bass, Hints of Ambient
Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music

Stones Taro - Dwellers of the Seabed

Genre: Left-field Dance Music, Minimal Techno, Hints of Ambient here too
Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music

SOM4LI - chachacha EP

Genre: Indie Rock
Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music

Fuki Kitamura - 500mm EP

Genre: Electronic Pop, A little Soul??
Spotify | Apple Music

Takuro Okada - 熱のあとに (Netsu no ato ni) Original Soundtrack

Genre: Ambient with hints of Smooth Jazz?
Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music

🍵Piping Hot Singles🍵

Pandagolff - New Balance
Spotify | Apple Music
Genre: Indie Rock, Math Rock Psychedelic Rock Hybrid?

Pictured Resort - Mild Child
Spotify | Apple Music
Genre: Soul-Infused Indie Rock/Indie Pop

Karen Komatsu - いつかの時間 (Itsuka no jikan)
Spotify | Apple Music
Genre: Singer-Songwriter, Indie Pop

Thank you!

Thanks again for reading this issue of Shibuya’s Scrambled Sounds! If you have any feedback or questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out by replying to this email, or the official Instagram page (click the icon below). If you like what you read, please tell your friends, like our Instagram, etc. I hope to eventually be a primary source of Japanese music for the English-speaking world because I want to share my love of music with as many people as possible, and you all would be the way that could happen.

See ya next time! Breakfast is ready.

Reply

or to participate.